Distractions

Distractions…

I’m distracted by so many things. Sports. Bad TV. My ego. Pride. Etc, etc.

Things that mean absolutely nothing beyond the moment I experience them.

I’d like to say that I’ve reached a point in my life where I am not susceptible to falling into distraction. I’m obviously not. But, looking back…and seeing forward, I’d like to think that I’m starting to learn lessons and perspective for the future.

Here’s the truth that I’m embracing…All these distractions fade to nothingness. ABSOLUTELY ZERO MEANING!

As a father to an adult, I wish I would have been less distractible. I wish I would have been completely present in every interaction with my son. Because, my relationship with my son will be the only real thing that lives beyond me. All that posturing to others and wasted time is actually less than nothing. I’ve come to understand that it becomes a negative for you and for your kids, and their kids, and their kids.

Stop! Push aside all those distractions and focus on your family, Dad! They need you! When you do this, you will quickly realize and understand the value of being present. Legacy!

Thanks Pops!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started